Tag Archives: college football


Chad Kelly, Nephew of Former Bills QB Jim Kelly, Dismissed From Clemson Football Team

Chad Kelly, a redshirt sophomore and nephew of former Buffalo Bills quarterback Jim Kelly, was dismissed from the Clemson football team on Monday. Kelly was in contention to replace last seasons star QB Tajh Boyd. WYFF reports police escorted Kelly from the football facilities.

Here’s the full statement from coach Dabo Swinney:

“I have dismissed Chad Kelly for conduct detrimental to our program. He has had a pattern of behavior that is not consistent with the values of our program. I hope he will mature and grow from this and become the man and player I know he can be. I wish him nothing but the best in the future academically and athletically.”

There were reports that Kelly got into an altercation with members of Tigers’ coaching staff , including Coach Swinney and offensive coordinator Chad Morris, during the school’s Orange and White Game on Saturday. He didn’t play in the second half after throwing for 113 yards and two touchdowns.

Kelly tweeted his thoughts on the matter earlier Monday afternoon:



Miami Linebacker Denzel Perryman Lays Out Teammate During Spring Game [Video]

Denzel Perryman’s hit on running back Gus Edwards fired up his Miami teammates, and it’s easy to see why.

The 6’1″, 240-pound linebacker smashed Edwards to the ground during the Hurricanes spring game.

Of course, the Miami coaches would probably prefer their players to not lay out their teammates like that during spring ball.

One thing is certain after seeing this hit: Perryman now has bragging rights over Edwards in the locker room.

[ACC Digital Network, h/t Next Impulse Sports]


Tahj Jones: LSU Senior LB in Serious Condition After He Was Allegedly Shot By Former LSU Player Brandon Winey

LSU Tigers - HeadshotsFormer LSU linebacker, Tahj Jones, is in serious condition after he suffered a gunshot wound to the abdomen on Friday night. Jones, a senior who just finished his career, participated in LSU’s Pro Day earlier this week. Jones was visiting a female friend in Sulphur, Louisiana when 36-year-old former LSU lineman Brandon Winey arrived. Jones and Winey allegedly got into a fight and Winey shot Jones.

Below is a picture Winey posted on Twitter in January 2013. Winey has been arrested and charged with attempted murder.