The List Of 2018 Pro Football HOF Nominees Is Jam Packed With Talent, Choosing 5 Is Going To Be Hard

The 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018 was announced today. It reads more like the roster of an All-Madden team. Picking only five guys to get inducted from this list of NFL greats might be damn near impossible.

“The modern-era finalists revealed Tuesday night include linebacker Ray Lewis, wide receiver Randy Moss, guard Steve Hutchinson and linebacker Brian Urlacher. Those four players finished their careers with a combined 34 Pro Bowl selections and 20 first-team All-Pro selections.”

Lewis, Moss and probably Urlacher are locks to get inducted. That leaves two spots left for 2018. Yeah, good luck with those selections.

“Tackle Tony Boselli, wide receiver Isaac Bruce, safety Brian Dawkins, guard Alan Faneca, tackle Joe Jacoby, running back Edgerrin James, cornerback Ty Law, safety John Lynch, center Kevin Mawae, wide receiver Terrell Owens and cornerback Everson Walls are the other finalists.”

I don’t see James, Bruce, Faneca, Law, Lynch, Mawae and Walls making it in this year.  Boselli and Hutchinson are both strong possibilities, while Brian Dawkins should be in HoF (and that’s tough for a Cowboys fan to admit) but he might need to wait one more year. Joe Jacoby has been on the ballot almost as long as he played.

And that leaves Terrell Owens. Owens has HoF numbers but isn’t very popular with the people responsible for putting him in. Owens should be inducted but it might take a few years of playing nice to the media before he can put on that ugly yellow jacket.

[via ESPN]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *